My 100th Post…and a little celebratory Apple Pie

Ho-ly Smokes!  100 Posts.  Wow.

When I started this blog, I never thought it would make it to 100 posts.  I mean, I was pretty much hoping the writing would motivate me to cook for a month or two – just long enough for Hubs to see that I gave it a real good try.  And then I could be done for another five or so years.

But that didn’t happen.

Instead, I ended up enjoying the writing, tolerating the cooking, and loving the baking.  Who knew?

Additionally, I’ve made some wonderful new blogging friends who have helped me out with good advice, amazing recipes, and a lot of support and inspiration.  A big, big thank you to Kate from Calamity Kate’s Kitchen, Geni from Sweet and Crumby, Caroline from Sweet Caroline’s Kitchen, and Maris from In Good Taste.  They’ve stuck around for quite a while and have made this blogging endeavor so much fun.

Okay, now back to the food.

How in the world do you celebrate 100 posts?

With a delicious dessert with good friends, of course!

Last week we had some dear friends over for dinner.  Hubs made an amazing meal (are we not surprised?), and I got to be in charge of the dessert.  I wanted to do something classic, tasty – and since we had a tree full of ripe apples – appley.  This recipe hit the spot.  Several, in fact.

The Recipe:

Traditional Apple Pie, adapted slightly from In Good Taste

1 recipe Pate Brisee (do not pre-bake)

1 cup firmly packed brown sugar

2 teaspoons all-purpose flour

1/8 teaspoon salt

1/8 teaspoon cinnamon

1/8 teaspoon nutmeg

1 cup sour cream

3 to 3 ½ cups chopped, peeled apples

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.  Divide your pie crust into two equal pieces.  Line a 9” pie pan with half the pie crust, folding any excess dough over the edges of the crust.  Place the remaining dough aside.

Mix sugar, flour, salt, cinnamon and nutmeg in a medium-sized mixing bowl.  Stir in sour cream until fully blended.  Add apples. Toss lightly until mixture is well combined and all apples are coated in the sour cream mixture.  Place mixture into the pie pan and set aside.

On a lightly floured surface, roll the remaining dough into a 10”-wide circle.  Cut the dough into at least eight equal strips (you may have some dough leftover) and form a lattice, or crosshatch pattern on the top of the pie.

Bake at 400 degrees F for ten minutes. Lower the heat to 350 degrees F and continue baking for approximately 45 minutes or until apples are tender and pastry has turned golden brown. Serve warm.

{Printable Recipe}

The Results:

Let’s start with the apples, shall we?

Fresh, juicy, and chopped pretty well with my lovely knife.  (I ended up having to chop more, though.  I ended up using about 3 1/2 c to utilize all of the sour cream mix.)

The peanut gallery, cheering me on while I chopped apples and rolled out dough.

Now, onto the dough.  I’d made it before, so I wasn’t at all intimidated by the Pate Brisee.  And I always feel fancy making it, even if it is just pie crust.

Putting it in the pan was easy, too, since I learned the fold-it-into-quarters-and-set-it-in-gently trick.  (I may have to copyright that name, so don’t steal it.)

Now here was the really tricky part – the lattice-style top.  Everything else had been pretty easy, so I wanted to push myself with a more complicated top.  It turned out great – though my straight line cutting may need some practice.

Well, you can definitely tell it's homemade.

But really, when cooked, it looked golden and delicious.

Sunlight hitting the pie

Served with some french vanilla ice-cream, life was good.

This picture does not do it justice. I hate taking pictures in overhead light, no flash - they never turn out right.

Of course, it was a hit.  Warm, gooey, with a little tart in the apples, complimented by the flaky, buttery crust.  Mmmmm.  (And frankly, was great for breakfast the next day.)

Now that’s how you celebrate your 100th post.

15 thoughts on “My 100th Post…and a little celebratory Apple Pie

  1. Yaaay! Congratulations! And it’s so nice to hear you actually love to bake now! Cooking will come soon too, I’m sure. Keep up the good work – I love reading your stories and find your recipes delicious!

    Like

  2. Congratulations Courtney! 🙂 You have come a long way baby. This pie looks scrumptious and lattice top? Woo hoo! You are in the big leagues now my friend. Thanks for the shout out! I do hope we get to meet in person sometime. That would be really nice. Your boys, or the peanut gallery, are soooo adorable. I want to give them a big hug but that would be weird because I am a stranger and you’ve told them not to talk or HUG strangers. I am so glad you ate a slice for breakfast because now I am absolutely sure we can be great friends. Was contemplating and now I know.

    Like

  3. Congrats on the 100th post, Courtney! Such a great milestone. Now I’m tempted to make this apple pie so I can celebrate with you. Looks so darn delicious! The golden crust is gorgeous.

    Like

  4. Courtney, congratulations on the 100th post! That’s such a fun accomplishment! And I love how you celebrated with an apple pie. Delicious!!!! Especially with the vanilla ice cream. I can taste it now. And your peanut gallery is just adorable! 🙂

    Like

  5. Your little ones are just adorable! Congratulations on your 100th post, it happens so fast doesn’t it. Your Apple Pie looks awesome! Thank you so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday. Hope you are having a great week end and come back soon!
    Miz Helen

    Like

  6. Pingback: Happy National Pi(e) Day! « Sweet And Crumby

Comments make me happy.

