Parmesan Crusted Tilapia

I’m not a big fan of Rachael Ray.  (Yep, I said it.)

Frankly, I find her a bit perkily annoying, and she gives me a headache.  (Please don’t judge me.)

But I admit, sometimes, sometimes, she has a borderline brilliant recipe.  And I can’t help myself – I am drawn to trying it.  That’s what happened with this recipe.  It went against my very nature, but I took a deep breath and went with it anyways.

The Recipe:

Parmesan-Crusted Tilapia, adapted from Everyday with Rachael Ray

¾ cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese (or I substituted with 1/2 c parmesan and 1/4 c bread crumbs)

2 teaspoons paprika

1 tablespoon chopped flat-leaf parsley

4 tilapia fillets (about 1 pound total)

1 T lemon juice

2 T olive oil (I refuse to call it EVOO!)

Preheat the oven to 400°.  In a shallow dish, combine the cheese, crumbs, paprika and parsley & season with salt and pepper.  In separate dish combine lemon juice and oil.  Dip the fish in the olive oil mixture and then dredge in the cheese mixture.  Place on a foil-lined baking sheet and bake until the fish is opaque in the thickest part, 10 to 12 minutes.

{Printable Recipe}

The Results:

Did you see how easy the recipe is??  I mean seriously, I didn’t have about half the original ingredients, but I subbed away.  And guess what?  It worked.

I didn’t have enough parmesan, so I just grated some of my leftover french bread with it, and voila, a crispy crust.  I also didn’t have actual lemon wedges, so I just added some lemon juice to the olive oil.

Additionally, I didn’t have any fresh parsley (subbed dried) or regular paprika (subbed smoked paprika) – so I pretty  much changed everything, but only just slightly.

Pretty, isn’t it?

(I do have to say, the smoked paprika was a little strong for the mild fish, so if you make this, definitely use the regular paprika.  It wasn’t bad, mind you, just a little over-flavored.)

Served with a baked potato and some fresh green beans, a meal was had.  With only 10 minutes of prep and 10 minutes of cooking (not including the baking of the potato), this is my kind of meal to make.

I hate to admit it, but RR can cook.

Maybe I can watch her show on mute?

11 thoughts on “Parmesan Crusted Tilapia

  1. Your Tilapia with the Parmesan Crust looks so good, Courtney. Thank you so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday. Hope you are having a great week end and come back soon!
    Miz Helen

    Like

  2. Pingback: Mom’s Famous Green Beans « Misadventures in Cooking

Comments make me happy.

