Cinnamon Apple Muffins

I’m easing my way into fall.

(Pretty much because in my neck of the woods it means rain, wind, and lots and lots of gray.)

I see all the delicious pumpkin recipes (that frankly, make me drool), but I’m not quite there yet.

But I am all about the apples.  Maybe because we planted two apple trees this year.  And they’re actually providing fruit!  We picked one last week to sample, and it was sweet and tart and juicy and perfect.

two of our golden beauties

I knew that I needed to find a great recipe to showcase that perfect Golden Delicious flavor.  I think this did them justice.

The Recipe:

Cinnamon Apple Muffins, adapted slightly from Alli-n-Son

2 c white whole wheat flour

1 t baking powder

1 t baking soda

1/4 t sea salt

1 T cinnamon

1/2 c vegetable oil

1/2 c sugar

3/4 c dark brown sugar, divided

1 large egg, lightly beaten

1 c buttermilk (or 1 T vinegar and enough milk to make 1 c)

2 large apples or 3 small apples, peeled, cored and chopped (about 2 c)

Preheat the oven to 375°F.  Spray a muffin tin with butter-flavored nonstick spray or line with muffin liners.

In a small bowl combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon. Set aside.

In a large bowl mix by hand or with an electric mixer the oil, granulated sugar and 1/4 c of the brown sugar. Add the egg and mix well.   Alternately add the buttermilk and dry ingredients, mixing between each addition.

Using an ice cream scoop, fill the muffin cups.  Sprinkle the remaining 1/2 c brown sugar on top.  Bake for 25 to 30 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of a muffin comes out clean.  Remove from the oven and allow to cool for 5 minutes in the tin.  Transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

{Printable Recipe}

The Results:

I’m not going to lie, if you are not used to whole wheat flour, it might taste a little ‘healthy’ to you… but if you get past bite one, bites 2-5 are amazing!  And you don’t even notice the healthiness anymore.

I think it helped that I kept my apples decent-sized (and yes, it was on purpose, because really, I am a pretty awesome chopper – finally!), so that you would really be able to taste them in each and every bite.

I know you are still jealous of my awesome muffin tins!

And using the dark brown sugar gave it a really molasses-y flavor tone that I loved.

The texture was perfect.  Light and muffin-y with those little bits of fresh apple thrown in.

They were a hit with the whole family, which doesn’t happen too often.

And they were the perfect toe-dip into fall.

12 thoughts on “Cinnamon Apple Muffins

  1. Oh my goodness! I think having made those muffins you should immediately rename your blog to Cooking Adventures! They are perfect and there is nothing better than the crunchy sweet and lightly tangy Golden Delicious apple. Well apart from your muffins there isn’t…

    Like

  2. Apples in muffins are so good! It’s taking me a little bit to get into the swing of fall foods, too, but seeing so many delicious posts are really helping me along 🙂 Love the large apple chunks and the brown sugar sprinkle!

    Like

  3. They look very good. I have only made bread with whole wheatr flour, I will give it a try.
    Here from On the Menu Monday. I posted an apple donut/muffin recipe. It is really good, not as healthy as yours though. Sometimes you have to go for the gusto! 🙂

    Like

  4. I can see why they were a hit with the entire family, these look great! They look super moist. I’m all about the apple recipes, in addition to pumpkin. Oh how I love fall. 🙂

    Like

Comments make me happy.

