Peach Cobbler

Of all the recipes I’ve messed up, I think the Peach Galette bothers me the most.

I hated that those yummy, mouth-watering peaches were not used to their full potential.  And since we’re coming to the end of fresh peach season, I decided I need to try another peach dish.  Something very, very, very easy this time.

When I saw this recipe with just five ingredients and five sentences of instructions, I knew I was ready to face (and hopefully not ruin) those peaches once again.

The Recipe:

Perfect Peach Cobbler, from A Step in the Journey

1 c self-rising flour

1 c sugar

1 c milk

1 stick melted butter

4 ripe peaches

Whisk together sugar, flour and milk.  Stir in the melted butter and pour into a greased dish.  Sprinkle the peaches on top & let them sink in.  Top with extra sugar if you wish.  Bake at 350 for 40-50 minutes.

{Printable Recipe}

The Results:

By far the easiest, most satisfying recipe to date.  I mean it took me less than 10 minutes to put together, baked for a bit, and then it was ready.  And, as advertised, it was perfect!

 It was golden, crumbly, sweet, and the cake was a just the right texture to compliment the peaches.  As Hubs described it, it was almost like a peachy coffee cake.

We actually did not have any vanilla ice-cream (gasp, I know, shame on us!), so we used a little whipped cream instead.

And it was all good.

And it will be gone very soon, I predict.

(But seriously, it was so simple.  If you ever need a quickie dessert – do this.  You won’t regret it.)

4 thoughts on “Peach Cobbler

  1. Courtney,

    I love anything peach or pluots. This cobbler looks incredible and super easy! I am so excited that you topped it off with whipped cream, way better than ice cream! Cheers, Kate

    Like

Comments make me happy.

