Almond *No* Joy Brownie Bites

I really hate it when I get in my own way of cooking.

When I don’t think and just do – and when I look back and wonder, What in the world was I THINKING?!?

Well, I had one of those experiences this week as I attempted to make Lisa, from Flour me with Love ‘s, Almond Joy Brownie Bites.  (I’m so sorry, Lisa – you’ll probably never want me to try another one of your recipes again.)

Here we go…

The Recipe:

Almond Joy Brownie Bites, adapted from Flour me with Love

1 box dark chocolate brownie mix

1 (14-oz) bag of shredded coconut

1 (14-oz) can of sweetened condensed milk

1/4 c milk

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Line muffin pan with cupcake liners.  Mix brownies according to the directions on the box.  Fill cupcake liners about half way.  Bake for 12 minutes.

While baking, mix coconut and milks together.  Remove brownies from oven and spoon on some coconut.  Put back in oven and cook for another 14-16 minutes, until coconut is just starting to turn golden.

Remove from oven and allow to cool completely before removing from liners.

{Printable Recipe}

The Results:

Oh dear God, did I mess up.  And ruin everything.  Including the muffin pan.

But let’s go back to the beginning.

Everything started off lovely.  I was so excited to be making something with one of my most favorite combinations of ingredients – chocolate and coconut.

I had an easy time with the boxed brownies (lots of practice, you know).  And mixing the coconut was a breeze.  But it was right about here that things started to go wrong.

It looks innocent enough, right?  I had changed the original recipe by using a regular box of brownie mix instead of the family size… so I happened to have extra coconut.  What’s the problem with that, you might ask?  How can anything be bad about extra coconut?  I agreed, so I decided to just add it to the top of my brownies bites.  Extra coconut = extra goodness, right?

Wrong.  Absolutely, positively wrong.

(This is the what was I thinking moment. As I added coconut, the first dollop started sinking into the brownies. So I added some more.   And then maybe a tad more.  Not the best decision, as you will see.)

I realized that things may not’ve been going exactly as I’d hoped when I peeked in the oven and saw all the coconut overflow.  (This was also about the time that I leaned my wrist against the grate and got a small second degree burn.  Ouch!)

 And it was completely confirmed as I removed the pan.  These looked nothing like the gorgeous little bites on Flour me with Love.


And here were the final products.  None were beautiful, but at least four looked somewhat presentable.

I let them cool completely, as directed, and then went to remove them from the liners (so at least I could get a picture of one of them looking nice).

Fooled you!

Yes, this may look nice from the front, but check out the back.

Yes, that is cupcake liner, baked into the brownie and coconut.  No, you cannot remove it without losing at least half of the brownie bite.

Then you’re just left with lots of sweetened coconut with a tiny taste of chocolate.  Not exactly what I was going for here.

Pretty much just a big ole waste of time.

But honestly, it has such great potential.  You should check out the original recipe if you want to see what it should’ve turned out like.

Maybe I should just go back to meals.

Nah.

13 thoughts on “Almond *No* Joy Brownie Bites

  1. Coconut overflow aside, these actually look pretty great to me! I had a liner-cling incident once…but by the next day the moist from the muffins (I guess) had permeated the liners enough to make them soggy and release. (Still doesn’t sound very tasty, does it?) Did you notice any more “give” the next day?

    Oh, and one nit-pick that I just can’t keep in…they’re called “Almond Joy” bites but where are the almonds?

    Like

    • Hah, you caught me. I forgot to mention in my story that at the end, you’re supposed to drizzle chocolate and nuts on top. I figured it was pointless, so I just skipped it. 🙂

      Like

    • Geni, the best thing about messing up, is at least I know someone will get a laugh. (And usually, after a brief passage of grieving time, it’s me!) Glad you got a laugh from it, too. 🙂

      Like

  2. Pingback: Coconut Chocolate Chip Cupcakes with Chocolate Buttercream Frosting « Misadventures in Cooking

  3. Pingback: Seven Links Challenge « Misadventures in Cooking

  4. Pingback: Chocolate Coconut Cookie Bars « Misadventures in Cooking

  5. Pingback: Banana Chocolate Chip Struesel Muffins « Misadventures in Cooking

  6. lol OMG I sooo just did what you did this weekend! I had to use a knife to get the ‘glued’ on coconut brownies out of the pan,nevermind the wrapper. 😦 They did taste heavenly but they looked a mess! I had to soak the pan in hot water twice, but it is all good now. So I guess next time I should just spoon one bit of coconut… I’m scared to try them again though incase I mess them up AGAIN. lol Glad to know I’m not the only one though!

    Like

Comments make me happy.

