Crumpets

I think I’m a little obsessed.

As I talked about earlier, I had my very first crumpet last week.  And I fell in love.  It was so good.

What’s a crumpet, you might ask?  Well, it’s a mix between a pancake and an English muffin.  Tall, kinda poofy, with holes, but sweet and melt-in-your-mouth good.

I decided I needed to make these myself – pretty much so I could have them anytime I wanted.  I opted for the easy version I found.  Though next time, I might push myself to go with a little more complication, just to see if there’s a big difference.

The Recipe:

Easy Crumpets, from Food.com

2 c flour

3/4 c granulated sugar

3 t baking powder

3 eggs

1 c milk

just over 2 T melted butter

Mix everything, adding the butter at the very end.  Grease a flat-bottomed frying pan or griddle and heat on medium.  Drop or pour small amounts of batter onto griddle.  Turn and cook other side when bubbles break on surface of crumpet.  Serve warm.

{Printable Recipe}

The Results:

So they weren’t exactly as perfect as I remembered them, but then at The Crumpet Shop, they’d probably been perfecting their recipe for years – so I get a little leeway.  Anyways, they were still darn good!

The batter was a lot thicker than I was expecting.  I had to use a ladle to get the batter to the pan, instead of just pouring, like I’d planned.


They looked just like pancakes, just taller and fluffier.  With their sweet and buttery taste, it was hard to decide what kind of topping to use… so we tried several.  Honey & butter, syrup, and best of all: some of our homemade strawberry freezer jam!

I have to say, it was like eating dessert for breakfast – and I believe the calories totally don’t count before 8am, so I had several.

Now, on to the best part (at least for my ego)…

As I was pouring and griddling (is that a verb?) my crumpets, my husband had to come over to watch.  Of course, he had some advice (as always).  He told me suggested that I use a ring-mold in order to get a perfect circle and a great poof.  I told him no, that I was just going to try it the way it said in the recipe and then if it didn’t work out right, I would give his idea a try.

Guess what?  Mine turned out fine!  Yes, there was a little tweaking with done-ness, but they were absolutely delicious.

But, as soon as I sat down to enjoy a few of my masterpieces, Hubs got out a ring-mold and started pouring his own.  Whatever, I thought.  Until about four minutes later when I looked over and saw this:

I wish the pictures had turned out better, but I had to sneak taking them.

Hah!!  His idea did not turn out!   Mine was the definite winner.  Yes!  (Can you tell I’m excited?!  I never beat him in the kitchen.)

It was a great start to a day: a new favorite breakfast treat and a total “told you so” to Hubs.

It still tasted good, I admit, but mine were prettier.

Woo-hoo!

9 thoughts on “Crumpets

  1. Yay and wow way to beat the hubby at his own game! I have never had a crumpet but I am obsessed with English teas with scones and clotted cream. I am so going to try these crumpets out! Oh and I am going to try this no calories before 8 am… I am so excited to eat and not pay!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Pickle Pot Results « Misadventures in Cooking

  3. Hi Coutney
    I just love your crumpets, they look delicious. I can’t wait to try your recipe with some hot butter and jam. Hope you are having a great week and thank you so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday.
    Come Back Soon!
    Miz Helen

    Like

Comments make me happy.

