Strawberry Shortcake Anniversary

Did you know that (at least in our house) the 11th wedding anniversary is the Strawberry Shortcake Anniversary?

Well, that’s what we officially decided this year – it’s much tastier than the traditional gift of steel.  (Seriously, steel?  What would you give each other?  car parts?  appliances?  skyscrapers?)

Hubs was in charge of our dinner (just cause I didn’t want to mess up this special night), and I was in charge of dessert.  We both love strawberry shortcake, so I decided to give it a try.

The Recipe:

Strawberry Shortcake, adapted from Sweet Caroline’s Kitchen

1  lb strawberries, stemmed and quartered

4 T sugar, separated (2 T each)

2 c flour

2 t baking powder

1/4 t baking soda

3/4 t salt

1 1/2 c half n half

Mix strawberries with 3 tbsp. sugar and refrigerate while juices develop, at least 30 minutes.

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda, remaining 2 T sugar, and salt in a medium bowl. Add half n half and mix until just combined. Place mixture in a greased 8-inch square pan and bake until golden, 15 to 18 minutes.

Remove shortcake from pan and place on a rack to cool slightly.

Cut into pieces, slice horizontally, add lots of berries and whipped cream to taste.

{Printable Recipe}

The Results:

Note to self: Read a recipe completely before shopping for ingredients.  Just because you want to take a short cut, does not mean you can skim the ingredients and directions list!

Let me explain… Caroline’s recipe called for making your own whipped cream, which normally I would’ve done.  But I was a little busy that day redecorating our play room, cleaning house for visitors, and all-around corralling children.  So, I knew I was going to cheat by getting the spray whipped cream.  When I looked at the ingredients list, I assumed the heavy whipped cream originally listed was for that, not for the cake itself.  When I actually went to make the recipe that night at about 7, I realized my mistake, and had to substitute half n half for the cream.

This did not ruin the recipe (yay), but I think it didn’t turn out exactly as fluffy and rich as Caroline’s.

definitely not as pretty as Caroline's

It also poofed up a lot in the oven.  Thank goodness it calmed down a bit before serving.  The flavor was pretty good and it did soak up the strawberries.  Let’s be honest, though, it’s really just all about the strawberries, anyways.

(Side note: I may have regretted the fake whipped cream for a short while – until I got to spray it in my four-year old’s mouth.  I sprayed a little too much and he couldn’t even close it.  It was hilarious watching him figure out what to do. )

Since the strawberries were so fresh and delicious, all was well.

And we enjoyed our special dessert.

I think all anniversaries should be associated with some sort of dessert.

I’m voting Molten Chocolate Cake for our 12th. 

What do you think?

13 thoughts on “Strawberry Shortcake Anniversary

  1. I’m so glad you gave the recipe a try, and I think it looks delicious!!! I think omitting the homemade whipped cream and substituting with the canned was a great decision, just so you could spray it in your four-year-old’s mouth–that’s hilarious!

    Like

  2. mmmm, your strawberry shortcake looks delicious!! Great job on that. Mine always turns out too… thick (I think that’s the right word) and doesn’t soak up any strawberries 😛 So kudos to you! I’d love for you to share this at my Sweet Treats Party this weekend!

    I liked you on facebook and am stumbling this post! I’d love a GFC follow when you get the chance 🙂

    Ashton
    http://www.somethingswanky.com
    {Sweet Treats Thursday} Thu-Sun

    Like

  3. Pingback: Back to the Market: A Tasting Tour « Misadventures in Cooking

Comments make me happy.

