Peach Galette

I really, really wanted a BIG baking success in the kitchen this week (especially after this and this ).

But, alas, it was not to be.

And I even followed all the directions.  Exactly.  Word for word.

(Well, except for the part about turbinado sugar.  I still have no clue what it is.)

And it still went wrong.  What the heck is going on around here?  I do think the baking gods are upset at something I’ve done.  Maybe I should light some incense and sing some chants before I next cook …

Anyways, it still tasted good, so I shall share.

The Recipe:

Rustic Peach Galette, adapted from In Good Taste

1 1/4 c all-purpose flour

1/4 t salt

8 T (1 stick) unsalted butter, cut into small pieces (about the size of dice)

1/4 c sour cream

2 t fresh lemon juice

1/4 c ice water

3 c thinly sliced peaches (about 3 large)

1/2 c light brown sugar

1 t ground cinnamon

1 t pure vanilla extract

2 T cornstarch

1 egg white

In a bowl, combine the flour and salt.  Add the butter to the mixture and using a pastry blender, cut it in until the mixture resembles coarse meal (you should be left with small lumps of butter no larger than the size of individual peas).

In a separate small bowl, whisk together the sour cream, lemon juice and water and add half of this mixture to the well.  With your fingertips, mix in the sour cream mixture until lumps form. Remove the large lumps and repeat with the remaining liquid.  Pat the lumps together to form them into a ball and place in a bowl covered with plastic wrap.  Refrigerate for one hour to chill dough.

To make the peach filling, combine all leftover ingredients in a large bowl (except egg white), and toss gently, making sure that the cornstarch is coating the fruit. 

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees.  Once dough has chilled, remove it from the refrigerator and on a floured work surface, roll the dough out into a 12-inch round. Transfer to an ungreased baking sheet covered with parchment paper or silpat.  Spread peach mixture over dough, leaving a 1 1/2-inch border.  Brush dough with egg wash, and sprinkle with  some sugar, if you desire.

Bake for 1 hour, or until crust is golden brown and the filling is bubbly. Serve warm or at room temperature.

{Printable Recipe}

The Results:

Okay, I have several theories why this went gone wrong:

1.  Too many peaches

2.  Too many overly ripe peaches (they were really juicy)

3.  The dough is supposed to be folded over along the edges to hold everything in and make it look better (This is Hub’s theory – and looking at the original pictures, I think he might be right – don’t tell him I said so, though.  It’s not good for his ego.  Or mine.)

4.  All of the above

Yeah, I think I’m going to go with #4.

Making the dough was a cinch.  I really enjoyed getting my aggression out on the butter and flour mixture with the pastry cutter.  And mixing with my hands didn’t freak me out as usual, either.

The peaches smelled so good and were quite juicy, as I mentioned earlier.  I ended up cutting 4 medium size ones since we had them, and I didn’t want any to go to waste.

And I think it was a this point that things started to go wrong.  I added all the ingredients to the peaches, and I got this really liquidy mixture:

And then, when I went to place this on the rolled-out pastry, the liquid began to spread.  A lot.  I even changed to a slotted spoon for scooping, but the damage had already been done.

looks like an erupting volcano: Mt. Peachuvious

I should’ve known something wasn’t right.  Hubby, oh so helpfully, said so…but I ignored him, put the pastry in the oven, and hoped for the best.

ummm, I'm thinking this is not the best

 It looked completely wrong.  The texture of the pastry, at least around the sides, was crispy and cookie-like (what is with me crisping up things???)  The peaches were still like a little mountain on top, as opposed to surrounded by flaky pastry goodness.  And it was ready 10 minutes earlier than I had planned.

Well, even though it looked wrong ( just for scientific purposes, of course) I had to at least give it a try.

Oooh, and it was good.  Those peaches had amazing flavor and most of the dough was still soft and flaky (and I didn’t even really mind the crunchy edge – kinda gave it a fun texture with the peaches).

Now if I only I could bake something that tasted good and actually looked good, too!

A girl can dream, can’t she?

11 thoughts on “Peach Galette

  1. So glad you tried the recipe, although I’m sorry it didn’t work out quite as planned. I think that your husband is definitely onto something about folding it over. Luckily it’s a “rustic” recipe so I think as long as it tastes good, anything goes 🙂

    Like

  2. I love your honesty! I had a recipe that didn’t turn out quite so well this week too, but still posted about it. I still think that this recipe sounds delicious! Even your final presentation is wonderful!!! I hope that you’ll consider stopping over and sharing it on my weekend foodie blog hop “Fresh Food Fridays and Seasonal Saturdays”….the peaches are just awesome this summer this, aren’t they? (PS….now happily following!)

    Like

  3. Hi Courtney,
    Girl, it may not have turned out the way you wanted it to, but it sure looks good to me. I sure hope you saved me a piece of that yummy goodness and I love that crunchy edge! Thank you so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday and hope to see you again real soon! Hope you are having a great week end.
    Miz Helen

    Like

  4. I totally grinned at this post. I’ve have so many misadventures in my own kitchen; I know I am going to enjoy your blog. Your sweetie is definitely onto something. All you missed was to fold the edges over the sides of the peaches. 😉 Glad it was still tasty. I am happily following you now.

    Like

  5. Pingback: Peach Cobbler « Misadventures in Cooking

  6. Pingback: Seven Links Challenge « Misadventures in Cooking

Comments make me happy.

