Watermelon, Queso, and Basil Salad

Happy belated Fourth of July!

Our Fourth was filled with grilling, fireworks, and lots of family.  Sunday, as a matter of fact, was a family reunion.  It was one of those pot-luck get-togethers where everyone brings something tasty to share.

Hubs, of course, knew exactly what he wanted to bring.  He’s got dozens of stand-by recipes to use for these sorts of things, and just matches his dish to the event in question.  I have never even attempted to share a dish.  (Too much at stake, you know.)  Anyways, at this event, full of people I love, I decided to take a chance.

Since it was the Fourth, and sunny, I decided I needed to use some all-american watermelon. 

And I went with a salad.  With things I would never mix.  (I have some food mixing issues, as you might remember.)  I may have had a few heart palpitations putting it together – but I had a lot of trust in cook I got the recipe from.

The Recipe:

Watermelon, Queso, and Basil Salad, adapted from Maris Callahan’s Watermelon, Feta, and Basil Salad on In Good Taste

1/3 c extra virgin olive oil

3 T fresh lemon juice

salt and pepper, to taste

1 8-lb seedless watermelon cut into 1 1/2-inch chunks

1 cup queso fresco

1 small sweet onion

1 cup coarsely chopped basil leaves

In a large bowl, whisk the olive oil, lemon juice, salt and pepper. Add the watermelon, cheese, and onion and toss gently. Garnish with the basil and serve.

The Results:

Well, if you judge a dish from the compliments given, this one was a big hit.  And I got a lot of surprised faces when they learned that I made it, not Hubs.

Wish I had a better pic, but hubs took it for me while I was frantically getting kids together to go.

I even liked it too.  And I really wasn’t sure if I was going to (with the whole mixing of flavors thing).

I did substitute a milder cheese for the feta originally called for, and I think that made it definitely more my taste.  And as you can see from the recipe, it was easy-peasy (though cutting an 8 lb watermelon into small pieces was a bit of a pain).

This was a good recipe for me – not only did I branch out sharing food with others, but I tested my taste buds, too – and learned I like something different.  🙂

5 thoughts on “Watermelon, Queso, and Basil Salad

  1. Pingback: Adobo Pork Tenderloin and Glazed Carrots « Misadventures in Cooking

Comments make me happy.

