Honey Orange BBQ Chicken

I’m all about testing myself these days.

I’ve realized it’s good for the soul — and for the stomach, apparently.

Since I had great success roasting peppers on the barbecue, I decided to try for a main dish using the grill. 

Additionally, I wanted to use something from our very first CSA box.  Yay for fresh, organic (and mostly local) fruits and vegetables!  (And thank you to Val from Val’s Gluten Free Favorites and Jane Maynard from This Week for Dinner for talking up their experiences using a CSA.)

It didn’t take me long to find a terrific recipe on FoodNetwork.com – and from a show I normally don’t even watch…

The Recipe:

Honey Orange BBQ Chicken, adapted from The Neelys on foodnetwork.com

Marinade:

1/4 c freshly squeezed orange juice

1/8 c olive oil

1/8 c hot sauce

1/8 c Dijon mustard

1/2 T grated orange zest

6 chicken pieces, patted dry with paper towels

Glaze:

2 T butter

1/8 c honey

1/8 c freshly squeezed orange juice

1/8 c Hubby’s BBQ sauce (sorry, secret recipe I’m not allowed to share)

1/2 T grated orange zest

1 T Dijon mustard

1/8 t allspice

Mix the orange juice, olive oil, hot sauce, mustard, and orange zest together in a large bowl. Add the chicken and toss to combine. Cover with plastic wrap and let marinate for at least 1 hour and up to overnight in the refrigerator.

Prepare the grill to medium direct heat. Let chicken come to room temperature before grilling.

Melt the butter in a small saucepan on the grill. Whisk in the honey, orange juice, BBQ sauce, zest, mustard and allspice. Reserve some of the glaze in a small ramekin for serving.

Grill chicken, skin side down, for about 5 minutes.  Flip over and brush the chicken with glaze.  Turn the heat to medium-low and cover the lid of the grill. Continue cooking the chicken until it’s cooked through, about 25 minutes more, reapplying glaze every 5-10 minutes.

Remove the chicken from grill to a platter and serve with reserved glaze.

The Results:

Can I just start off by saying that this truly was AMAZING!  This was one of my best dishes to date – and everyone agreed (including the picky four-year old and the baby!).

I went with this recipe because we had gotten several organic oranges in our CSA box, and I thought they just sounded good with chicken.  Note to self (and others), it is much easier to zest an orange before you juice it.  Just an FYI.

Grilling turned out to be a piece of cake!  Seriously easy.  It was hotter than I thought, and I was a little over-protective of my chicken (I probably checked on it at least 7 or 8 times in the 25 minutes) – but that led to extra glazing, not a bad thing at all…

How can you not want to go back and check on this yumminess?

Since I’ve had issues with chicken in the past, especially when cooking it a new way, I wanted to make sure it was really done.  I wanted to make sure the chicken was a toasty 165 degrees before removing it from the grill.  Hubs was helpful in this, as he showed me the correct way to check the temperature (into the fattest part and not next to a bone). 

I think it turned out looking good.  What do you think?
 

And I served it with a fresh salad, made from our CSA goodies and some lettuce from our own garden.

See, I’m working on healthy.

I can not say enough how awesome this chicken turned out. It was juicy and flavorful – citrusy, sweet yet tart, and the added grill taste made it perfect. Seriously, please try this. I insist.

Overall, I surprised myself with how much I enjoyed barbecuing and how simple it really was.

And I didn’t even mind that I smelled like cooked chicken all night. 

Now that’s a sign of good meal.

11 thoughts on “Honey Orange BBQ Chicken

  1. Sounds delish, I’ll have to try it out for sure! And yay for CSA boxes. Which one are you doing? You are getting so good at this cooking thing!

    Like

  2. Pingback: BBQ Chicken Pizza « Misadventures in Cooking

  3. Courtney

    This recipe just grabbed my eye. I’ve been looking for a citrus based recipe for chicken and I’ve just found it. Sounds and looks gorgeous. I’m definitely trying it. Thanks!

    Anne @ Domesblissity xx

    Like

  4. Pingback: Sweet and Tangy Pork Chops « Misadventures in Cooking

Comments make me happy.

