Easy New York Style Cheesecake

First off, thank you to everyone who commented or emailed me with their cheesecake ideas.  Unfortunately, my husband’s kinda picky (never would’ve guessed, huh?), and he wanted an authentic, New York style cheesecake.  From scratch.  Baked, not chilled.  With a homemade crust.

(Does he even know me at all – and my issues in the kitchen?  Or have his expectations been raised?  Hmmm…Let’s go with option two for now.)

Anyways, I searched high and low to find this easy, baked, authentic cheesecake.

The Recipe:

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake, adapted from Allrecipes.com

15 graham crackers, crushed

3 tablespoons butter, melted

4 (8 ounce) packages cream cheese

1 1/2 cups white sugar

3/4 cup milk

4 eggs

1 cup sour cream

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

1/4 cup all-purpose flour

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease a 9 inch springform pan.

In a medium bowl, mix graham cracker crumbs with melted butter. Press onto bottom of springform pan.

In a large bowl, mix cream cheese with sugar until smooth. Blend in milk, and then mix in the eggs one at a time, mixing just enough to incorporate. Mix in sour cream, vanilla and flour until smooth. Pour filling into prepared crust.

Bake in preheated oven for 1 hour. Turn the oven off, and let cake cool in oven with the door closed for 5 to 6 hours; this prevents cracking. Chill in refrigerator until serving.

The Results:

It all seemed to be going so well.  The mixing was easy, no mistakes.  It looked good, and tasted even better (I mean, how can you not test one of the beaters??).

The crust was iffy.  Crumbling up 15 graham crackers, honestly, was a pain.  And it took for-ever!  I added the suggested 2 T of butter, but it just didn’t seem to be binding at all.  So I added another one, asked Hubs, and he said it looked fine.  I added my crust to the springform pan, and I had almost twice as much as I needed!  So, I just built up the sides for some extra graham cracker goodness.

I added the yummy filling and put it in the oven to bake.  And then sit. 

That’s hard, by the way – letting it sit for 5 hours without a single peek.  (I had placed it on the top rack in my oven, so even if I turned on the oven light, I couldn’t see what it looked like at all.)  But I followed the rules because I wanted it to turn out right.

{Side Story – While this was sitting and before I started cooking dinner, Hubs was hanging out in the kitchen, poking around into everything.  He turns to me and says that he’s having, and I quote, cooking withdrawals.  (It is true that because he’d been sick, he really hadn’t cooked a meal in almost 3 (gasp) days.)  Anyways, he asked me if he could make the strawberry sauce for the cheesecake.  I told him that he could make the apple juice from the can, and that I was in charge of the food for the day, not him.  A little bit later, during my shower, he went and made the sauce!!  Seriously, he has a problem.  Is there a Cooking Anonymous meeting anywhere?}

Unfortunately, all the waiting was for naught, it still cracked – right down the middle…

Oh, well.  No prizes for beauty, but I was still very hopeful it would taste dreamy.  Then I went to take off the springform pan and this happened:

I took this picture after I sliced off pieces for everyone - I was still trying to hide the evidence from our friends.

That whole binding the graham crackers with the butter, yep, it was definitely an issue.

Yes, that's half my crust on the counter.

Anyways, the good news was that the actual slices looked great and tasted just as dreamy as I’d hoped.  (And we just decided to not talk about the crust or strawberry sauce issues.)

Lovely, creamy goodness.

And Hubby was happy.  That’s all that matters.

8 thoughts on “Easy New York Style Cheesecake

  1. Pingback: Roasted Red Pepper Pasta « Misadventures in Cooking

  2. This really looks like the best NY cheesecake ever. Cheesecakes are definitely temperamental if you ask me. That’s what i have found after lots of tries and many failures. So your first one was quite the success despite the crumbly crust. BTW…does your supermarket sell graham cracker crumbs? For next time, that makes it tons easier if you don’t have a food processor. And it’s just the same thing as crumbling graham crackers to oblivion.

    Like

  3. To paraphrase Julia Child — no apologies and no explanations! Just serve the food, and “pretend” that’s the way it was supposed to be. I love that attitude from Julia! I think you did great for your first cheesecake. The cracking issue is EXACTLY why I usually glaze mine with a sour cream/sugar mixture baked on the top in the last 5 minutes of baking. It hides a multitude of sins. 🙂

    Like

  4. Thanks so much for commenting on my blog! We live just outside NYC & make a point of trying cheesecakes from all over the city. I’ve found that the graham cracker crust that seems so synonymous with New York Cheesecake elsewhere is almost nonexistent here! They either have it crustless (THAT would take guts), or a really thin layer of what seems to be white cake! I think all 3 ways are absolutely delicious, & yours looks fantastic!

    Like

  5. Hello! Next time try baking your crust BEFORE adding the filling. I usually use graham cracker crumbs, but if not, just through graham crackers into a regular old blender or food processor. I never crumb by hand! I usually use just a tad extra butter too. After your crust is pressed into the pan, bake it for about 10 minutes on 350 and then let it cool COMPLETELY before adding the mixture. This will help it set. Good luck!

    Like

  6. Pingback: Cheesecake (Take Two), 200 Posts, and a Giveaway « Misadventures in Cooking

Comments make me happy.

