Roasted Red Pepper Pasta

Last night was another first.  A big first for me.

I cooked for a dinner party.  (For people who are not even related to me, even.)

I have to admit, I was a bit stressed out.  Because family has to tell you good things, but friends can be brutally honest.  This isn’t necessarily a bad thing, though, because I do want the truth.  I just happen to like it a little sugar-coated.

Anyways, I was making the full meal.  Salad (yes, veggies!), dinner, and dessert.  All in one day.

The Recipe:

Roasted Red Pepper Pasta, adapted from Idiot’s Kitchen, adapted from Ree Drummond

1/2 lb pasta (I used bow ties)

3 red bell peppers, roasted

2 T butter

1 medium onion, chopped

3 cloves garlic, chopped

1/2 c heavy cream

1/2 c parmesan cheese, grated

fresh basil, chopped

salt and pepper

Melt 2 T of butter in a large pan and saute the onions for 3-4 minutes until tender but not browned.  Add the chopped garlic to the onions and saute for a few minutes more.  Add with roasted peppers to food processor.  Pulse a few times to blend – leaving you with a chunky mix.  Return to saute pan.

Bring a large pot of water to a boil, salt it generously, and drop in 1/2 pound of your favorite pasta.  Cook according to directions.

Turn heat on saute pan to medium-low.  Let mixture re-warm.  Add cream and stir until mixed.  Season with salt and pepper to taste.  When pasta is cooked, drain and add to pan.  Add grated cheese and basil.

The Results:

I have to admit that I was little freaked out cooking for other people – and in front of them.  It didn’t help that they (and Hubs) were giving me a hard time the whole time I was cooking… but it actually all turned out fine.

I was very proud of myself for actually roasting the peppers.  Even better, I used the barbecue on my own (for the first time)!  For easy directions how, go here.  It was actually quite easy, though it took a little time for them to blacken.

They smelled so good!

And scraping off the skin was a little more frustrating than I was expecting – but honestly, it was well worth it.

My onions, though eventually food processed, were perfectly chopped.  Even my husband was impressed.  It only took six months to get there.  😉  No pictures, though – I was working in front of an audience, so I had to keep my eye on the prize.
 
Also, since I was trying to not look like an idiot in front of our guests, I may have started skimming the recipe… and I put my garlic in with my onions instead of after them.  As Claudia from Idiot’s Kitchen warned in her recipe version, that can cause the garlic to get a little bitter.  This is true, though no one noticed besides me – since I was looking for it. 
 
 Additionally, I may  have sliced up my finger grating the parmesan.  No skin made it into the dish, though, so that’s good. 
 
I was proud, too, of the basil that I chiffonade-d.  Even my cutting skills are starting to get fancy!
 

Everyone seemed to enjoy the food, and our friends, who’ve known us forever were very impressed that I was cooking.  They even took pictures, too, since they’d never seen it happen before. 

Good meal.  Good friends.  Good times!

11 thoughts on “Roasted Red Pepper Pasta

  1. That looks amazing! I made Spaghetti (homemade sauce!) for my last dinner party and I cooked all of Thanksgiving dinner this last year. I don’t care what anyone says, cooking is tough!

    Like

  2. Hooray! I love your descriptions of your cooking adventures. Everything looks so good! Oh, and you’re in good company with the parmesan grating injury. I almost never cut myself with a knife but am seriously a danger with the microplane grater. Yikes!

    Like

  3. This looks sensational and I am ALWAYS on the look out for new pasta dishes. Thanks for sharing and I am right now giving you a round of applause for the obvious great job you did on your dinner. I love to barbecue by the way. Just learned to about a year ago and I’m 40! You are WAY ahead of the game. Everybody feeling better?

    Like

    • Thanks for asking, Geni. We seem to be doing better. Everyone but me ended up on antibiotics and steroids for croup/bronchitis stuff. I’m crossing my fingers that I continue to keep it at bay. 🙂

      Like

  4. this looks great! I love roasted peppers. Here’s a tip I learned for removing the skins. Place the roasted pepper in a sealed container (like a Tupperware) until it has cooled. the steam in the container will help loosed the skin! It really works!

    Like

  5. Pingback: Honey Orange BBQ Chicken « Misadventures in Cooking

  6. I’ve made this as well! (following Ree’s recipe!) I usually toast some pine nuts and add it into the blender when blending the sauce. The pasta is great with mushrooms or asparagus added…once I added some garlic breaded chicken! yummy!

    Like

Comments make me happy.

