Broccoli, Bacon & Cheese Quiche

Did you notice that the title did, in fact, start with a vegetable.

Are you impressed?  I am. 

At least until you see the second word.  That probably kind of cancels out the healthiness of  the broccoli.  But I’m okay with that, because, well, it is bacon.  And bacon is one of my favorite indulgences.  At least every once in a while.

Anyways, I’ve come to a realization this week.  I really enjoy baking. 

Cooking is okay, but I think that baking may be my thing.  This won’t change my goal to cook once a week – but it might add some new dimensions to what I am cooking. 

So this week I decided to cook something that required a little baking – Quiche – from scratch (in other words, no pre-made crusts for me).  I saw this amazing recipe on Crustabakes (one of the baking blogs I enjoy following) and I just had to try it; my way of course.

The Recipe

Pate Brisee (yep, had no idea what this was until now), from Hub’s recipe

2 c all-purpose flour

1/2 t salt

1 t sugar

1 stick sweet butter

4 T vegetable shortening

1 t lemon juice

about 1/4 c ice water

Place flour, salt, and sugar in bowl of food processor.  Pulse to combine.  Break/cut butter and shortening into 1 T cubes and add to flour.  Pulse until the consistency of coarse sand.  Add liquid a little at a time, pulsing in between, until dough begins to come together.  Pour onto clean surface and form into a disk.  Chill 1 hour or overnight.  Remove 1 hour prior to rolling.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Line crust with parchment or foil (spraying with cooking spray first).  Fill pie with weights or raw beans.  Place weighted pastry in oven.  Cook for about 12 to 15 minutes, or when the bottom just stops looking damp.

Broccoli, Bacon, and Cheese Quiche, adapted from Crustabakes

4 eggs
 
1 can (10 3/4 to 11 oz.) cream of chicken soup
 
1/2 c whole milk
 
1 c shredded cheddar cheese
 
6 slices bacon, cooked, drained, and crumbled
 
1/2 c cooked broccoli
 
1. In medium bowl, beat eggs until foamy. Gradually add soup and cream, mixing well.
 
2. Sprinkle cheese, meat and vegetable evenly over pie crust (pre-cooked from above). Pour soup mixture over all.
 
3. Bake at 350 degrees for 50 minutes or until center is set. Let stand 10 minutes before serving. Makes 6 servings.
 
The Results:
 
Well, besides the red nasty burn on my wrist, it went SO well!
 
I started out on the Pate Brisee.  I was a little worried because from what I’ve heard, pastry can be tricky.  But this recipe looked so easy, I thought, why not?  And it turns out, it was easy.  Not intimidating at all. 
 
My only real issue was a little dough shrinkage after the blind bake (new term I just learned, too – it means the pre-bake of the crust when it’s empty).  I just added a little of the leftover dough to the sides, re-cooked for a few minutes, and it looked fine.  The crust did turn out a little thicker than it needed to be, but it was flaky with a great flavor that complimented the filling.

The disk (in a good way) pre-rolling

  

Rolled out

 
 

In the tarte pan

The filling was even easier.  And I actually cooked bacon for the first time (sad, I know).  And I just microwaved the broccoli with a little water to get it a bit soft.

All the good stuff

 
 

Egg mixture added

 

My cooking time was quite a bit more (try 25 minutes) than the suggested time.  Not sure if that was because my crust was too thick or what, but we did have quite a delay in dinner.  (My husband and I were fine, but the kids were getting very cranky.)
 

Pretty, isn't it?

 
As I mentioned earlier, I did have a little mishap when attempting to break apart my tarte pan — as I was releasing the sides from the bottom, the pan kind of rested on my wrist for a while, (oops) and I let it in order to save the pretty quiche.  I could’ve dropped it down, but then all my hard work would’ve gone to waste. 
 
The sacrifices I make for lovely looking food.
 
And it was lovely.  And tasty.  And it contained a vegetable.  (Baby steps.)  Yay for me!

Just look at that!

6 thoughts on “Broccoli, Bacon & Cheese Quiche

  1. Pingback: My 100th Post…and a little celebratory Apple Pie « Misadventures in Cooking

  2. Pingback: Pumpkin Pie « Misadventures in Cooking

Comments make me happy.

