Chicken in Wine and Baked Wild Rice

(I know, it’s been a whole week since I last posted.  We’ve been a bit busy, go figure.  So here’s two recipes for the price of one.  🙂  )

Let me share a little bit about my life…

I get stuck watching the Food Network.  A lot. 

If you hadn’t already guessed, my husband loves the Food Network.  He watches it in his free time and gets inspiration for many of his dishes from ones he sees on TV.  Most of the time I just tune it out.

But there is one cook (not chef) that I love: Paula Deen.  She reminds me so much of my Grandma Nola (of the famous bread I attempted to cook here).  She’s funny, down-home, and she isn’t afraid to use any ingredient.  And when she has a drink or two, she’s not afraid to have a lot of fun.

She’s also a big proponent of butter (and cream and a lot of really good, but artery-hardening foods).

So, if you’re trying to find a healthy recipe, I’d stop reading right about now…

The Recipes:

Lady and Sons’ Chicken in Wine, adapted from Paula Deen’s recipe on FoodNetwork.com

4 large skinless boneless chicken breasts

4 tablespoons butter, melted, plus more for casserole

Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper

6 ounces (about 8 slices) Swiss cheese

1 (10 3/4-ounce) can condensed cream of chicken soup

1/4 cup white wine

1 cup herb-flavored croutons, crushed

1.  Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. 

2. Add the chicken to a shallow buttered casserole dish and season with salt and pepper, to taste. Layer the cheese slices on top.

 3. In a medium bowl, add the soup and the wine, season with salt and pepper and pour over the cheese. Sprinkle stuffing mix on top and drizzle with melted butter.  Bake for 45 minutes. Remove from the oven and serve.

Baked Wild Rice, adapted from Paula Deen’s recipe on FoodNetwork.com

3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) butter, plus more for ramekins

1 c raw wild rice (I used Lundberg Wild Blends)

1 c celery, sliced

1 medium white onion, chopped

2 teaspoons all-purpose flour

1 cup half n half

1/2 cup white wine

Salt and freshly ground black pepper

1/2 cup croutons

1.  Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Grease 6 ramekin dishes.

2.  Cook the rice according to package directions. Drain and put the pot over low heat for a few minutes to steam the rice dry.

3.  Melt the butter in a large skillet over medium heat and add the celery and onions. Saute them for a few minutes, then push them to 1 side of the pan and add the flour. Stir until the celery and onions are coated with the butter/flour mixture. Add the cream, stirring constantly. Add the white wine and salt and pepper, to taste; stir until smooth. Fold in the cooked rice and pour into the ramekins. Top with bread crumbs and bake until the top is brown, about 15 minutes.

The Results:

Hmmm…where to begin.

Technically, I was balancing three recipes today (the chicken, the original rice package directions, and the baked rice).  It was a bit difficult to figure out the timing of all of these, though I tried my best.  Unfortunately the chicken may have been ready about 15 minutes prior to the rice (and that may be because I accidentally purchased the thin boneless, skinless chicken breasts – that I didn’t even know existed, plus I really wasn’t looking that hard as I was trying to corral the two kids through the store at lunchtime today – not my brightest plan).

Even though it's thin, still looks good heading into the oven.

And that mad rush through the store caused another small mishap – the purchase of a large onion instead of a medium one.  Though I didn’t think it would be that big of a deal.  Apparently, it was, as we ate our rice-flavored onion dish.

Lots of onions (and butter)

(And Hubs was so kind to point out that I ignored his hint earlier while chopping, when he said that it looked like a lot of onion.  How could I have missed it?  It was so obvious, right? (insert sarcasm).  In other words, he had to throw in an I told you so moment.  Lovely.  Made me feel so much better.)

I did alter Paula’s recipe a bit to make it somewhat healthier (yes, Paula and I are on a first name basis – at least in my head).  I cut back some of the butter, cheese, and substituted half n half for the cream.  I didn’t notice any lack of flavor, so I think it was okay.

Anyways, the chicken, at least, turned out SO tasty – though maybe a tad rich.  It was moist and buttery (I know, shocker, right?) and the crunchy top added a great new dimension to each bite.

Overall, I was proud that I made two new dishes in tandem, and at least one of them turned out correctly – and the other wasn’t really that bad either.

Dinner is served
5 thoughts on “Chicken in Wine and Baked Wild Rice

  1. I have heard about Paula and her infamous butter spree. Unfortunately, we dont have food network in my part of the world. Nevertheless, that shouldnt stop me from trying her recipes! And what a lovely (and somewhat healthier) chicken and rice dish you have there!

    Like

  2. Ah, good ol’ Paula! God bless her! I love to watch her too, but I must confess that I’ve never made one of her recipes. I think that deep down, all that butter frightens me….

    Like

  3. Pingback: Thai Chicken Tacos « Misadventures in Cooking

Comments make me happy.

