Pumpkin Pancakes

This wasn’t really supposed to be my post for this week, but I’m being vetoed as dinner-cooker by Hubs (since it’s actually sunny out today, and he wants to BBQ.) 

(Oh, and he’s threatened to teach me how to use the grill, too.  Frankly, the barbeque scares me more than the oven – open flame and all.  We’ll see if he gets me out there or not.)

Anyways, I decided to make the boys a healthier breakfast this morning – one that is more than just carbs and dairy.  I went for a recipe that includes a vegetable.

I hate to admit it, but we are not a vegetable family.  In fact, all of us (including my 13 month old) do not like most veggies.  (And seriously, I’ve tried feeding the baby veggies for months, and he just pulls the spit-it-back-out manuever.)  When I saw this recipe that says that the real only difference is the color of the pancakes, I decided to give it a try.

The Recipe:

Pumpkin Pancakes from Parents Magazine, May 2011

1 c all-purpose flour

1 T sugar

1 t baking powder

1/2 t baking soda

1 egg, lightly beaten

2 T unsalted butter, divided

1 c buttermilk

1/3 c canned pumpkin

maple syrup

fresh raspberries

1. In a bowl mix flour, sugar, baking powder, and baking soda.  Melt 1 T butter.  Whisk in egg, buttermilk, pumpkin, and melted butter.

2. Heat a nonstick skillet over medium-high heat.  Add 1 t butter; swirl pan to coat.  Spoon 4 heaping T of batter (1 T per pancake) 2 inches apart on skillet.  Cook for 1 to 2 minutes or until pancakes have bubbles on top and are slightly dry around edges; turn.  Cook until golden on bottom, about 1 minute more.  If pancakes brown too quickly, reduce heat to medium.  Repeat with remaining batter and butter.  Serve warm with berries and syrup.  Makes 12 3-inch pancakes.

(Okay, who am I kidding here.  I didn’t really use this recipe – I used the one below it in the tiny orange box labeled: The Five Minute Version: Whisk together 1 c buttermilk pancake mix, 2/3 c low-fat milk, and 1/3 c canned pumpkin.  Cook as directed in recipe above.  Makes 8 3-inch pancakes. 

I mean really, I had the mix, and the most important part was the pumpkin, right?  Plus cooking while your 13 month old is chanting “Ber-ber-berry” over and over again; and your 4-year-old is trying to help, means easy is the way to go.)

The Results:

First off, they cooked really fast!  So I would definitely use a lower heat setting; maybe even medium-low. 

Second, surprisingly, they tasted as advertised: similar to regular pancakes.  I told my four-year old that they were orange just for him, since orange is his favorite color.  And I had to make him his usual “Mickey Mouse” pancake.

Oh, and I didn’t exactly serve them with berries (since we were running out and needed to hoard them for lunch for the Berry Monster – aka my little one).  I served them with marshmallows instead.  Does that undo the healthiness of the pumpkin?

How can you not love MM?

The kids did love them.  And no one complained that they tasted funny.  So I’m thinking success!

5 thoughts on “Pumpkin Pancakes

  1. Haha, nice! I’m so glad you commented on my blog since it means I found yours! It’s fabulous!!! I’m 100% afraid of the bbq myself, and frankly, bbqing is a man’s job in my opinion!!! No way I’m losing my eyebrows to an open flame! I’ve never considered putting pumpkin in my pancakes, but hey, it’s definitely a good way to get a bit of nutrition in there, right?!

    Like

Comments make me happy.

