Krispy Rice Cereal Easter Eggs

So… I need to backtrack for a minute. 

For those of you who were so excited for my success with my grandma’s bread…well, at least one of the loaves (the pretty one, actually) did not turn out exactly perfect.  In fact, after taking it over to a friend’s house as a thank you gift, we cut into it to only realize that it was pretty much hollow in the middle.  Yep,  there was a big freaking hole in the middle.  Slightly embarrassing!  So, if we count the crazy shapes of the other two, I think I went 0 for 3… 

Disappointing to say the least.

Okay, I’m over it. 

Back to the present.

Today I decided to try out a version of the recipe I saw on Katrina’s blog, In Katrina’s Kitchen… but instead of actually using her recipe, my skimming brain read that you could just use the regular recipe for Krispy Treats.

(In fact, when I looked back, NO-where did it say that.  This is what I get for thinking I could remember a recipe from last week.)

Anyways, I just used the regular recipe on the back of the cereal box.

(Random question, am I not allowed to use the real name of the cereal??  Don’t want to get in trouble, so I guess not.)

The Recipe:

3 T butter or margarine

1 package of regular marshmallows or 4 c of mini-marshmallows

6 c Krispy Rice cereal

1. Melt butter over low heat.

2. Add marshmallows and allow to melt.

(My step – add food coloring.)

4. Remove from heat and add Krispies.

5. Spray vertical – opening eggs with cooking spray.  Place cereal mixture in each side, connect, and let harden for a little while (I’m so specific, aren’t I?).  Remove and let set in muffin tin.

The Results:

Katrina was really creative and used Fruity Pebbles, which gave her eggs a bright and colorful look.  I just used the regular cereal with some food coloring.  When mixed with the marshmallows, it looked like a bright pastelly green – but when I added the krispies, it faded to a dull gangreney-ish green.  Not cute at all.

at least I had a cute sous-chef

Additionally, because I completely ignored the actual directions from Katrina, my krispy-mixture was really soft.  As in, when I took them out of the eggs, they basically melted into the muffin tin.

melted egg = not good

And, since I thought I would be able to use the egg molds over and over again, I only had three (do you know how hard it was to find vertical-opening eggs?).  So, I filled the three I had and decided to just let them sit until completely hardened.  The rest of the mix I just put in a cake pan.

Eventually they did harden.  And everything did taste quite yummy and gooey.  But it didn’t turn out exactly (or should I say, eggs-actly – yes, I’m that corny) as I’d hoped.

sad, lonely little eggs (can you even tell they’re green?)

(Oh, and hubby ate one of them without asking, so we only had two for pictures.)

 
My advice to you all, go back to the original real recipe, if you want this to turn out a tad better.
2 thoughts on “Krispy Rice Cereal Easter Eggs

  1. I always have the worst luck with forming Rice Krispy (ahh, I used the real name!) treats. They are always so sticky and hard to do much with. Not sure what the secret is. I tried to make eggs last year and it was a total disaster. Back to plain old squares, which still taste wonderful;)

    Like

    • I also found them too sticky and almost gave up BUT then I discovered that if I let them sit a few minutes and then pressed them firmly in the plastic eggs they firmed up nicely. I’m glad I didn’t give up, I’m using them for a children’s sermon as the empty tomb of Jesus!

      Like

Comments make me happy.

