Breakfast Casserole

If you’ve read any of my older posts, you’ll know that many of my first forays into recipes did not necessarily work out the way I was expecting.  One of those was the Hashbrown Casserole.  The cooking went fine, but the recipe – let’s be honest here – sucked.  It was bland, bland, bland!

So, I decided to try for another breakfast dish – and another casserole.  This one wasn’t cooked in a crock pot, but I’ve been feeling pretty good about using the oven lately, so why not.

Oh, and here’s the kicker, this recipe is one of Hubby’s.  And I was stupid brave enough to make it while he was home. 

The Recipe:

Hubby’s Breakfast Casserole

7 slices white bread, cubed

10 pre-cooked sausage links

1 1/2 c cheddar cheese, grated

1 red bell pepper, finely diced

2 green onions sliced thin

8 eggs beaten lightly

1 1/2 – 2 c half n half

1 t dry mustard

1 t kosher salt

Butter 9 x 13 inch baking dish. Place cubed bread in baking dish. Cut sausage into 1/2 inch pieces. Evenly spread sausage, cheese, bell pepper and onion over bread. In medium bowl, combine eggs, half n half, mustard powder, and salt. Pour evenly over sausage and cheese mixture. Cover with plastic wrap and chill for 4 hours or overnight.

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. Remove plastic wrap and bake on middle rack for 45-50 minutes or until eggs just begin to turn golden on top. Remove from oven and allow to set for 10 minutes before serving.

It should look like this.

The Results:

Well, for a made-up, off the top of his head recipe, it turned out great!  (Yes, I was complaining to him about the old recipe and that I wanted to make another breakfast-for-dinner dish, and he whipped this recipe up in about 10 minutes.  I guess maybe he has valid reasons for being a know-it-all in the kitchen.)

You may have to add more of the egg mixture to make sure it covers well.  And I did need to throw it back in the over for a couple more minutes to make sure it’s cooked all the way through the middle.

I did also get to reclaim my kitchen knife for a little while, too.  Though he did stand over me (again!) while I chopped stuff.  But he offered no commentary.  A first. 

(And hopefully not a last.)

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Breakfast Casserole

  1. Yummy! I love breakfast casseroles!!! Remind me sometime and I will share my idiot proof easy breakfast cassarole recipe with you. It is very similar to yours. I am thrilled that you have a natural touch for making cupcake. The chocolate with peanut butter buttercream was terrific! You rock! Kate

    Like

Comments make me happy.

