Cupcake Extravaganza

So, I admit it. 

I have never actually made cupcakes before. 

Sad, huh?

Growing up, cupcakes weren’t as popular as they are today, so when I baked (from a box) I always made full cakes.  For Hubby’s birthdays, we always went out, and for my oldest, my good friend makes amazing cakes and has always been my go-to person (the soccer, Mickey, and airplane cake are all from my oldest’s birthdays).  Knowing that she was making cakes for two other parties this week, I decided to step up, my style, and make cupcakes.

I, of course, started with a box.  (I gotta keep it somewhat simple for myself.)  After they had baked and cooled, I started with the fun part – frosting!

I had bought some pre-packaged white whipped frosting.  I added a couple drops of food coloring and voila:

Yummy, butter-yellow frosting.

I searched online for the best way to frost a cupcake, and realized that using a pastry bag with a fairly wide tip was a must.  Fortunately for me, Hubby once took a pastry class and had a whole collection of tips and bags.  (I did have to search the pantry/garage to find them – they got used so many times – sarcasm, anyone?)  The website I found suggested putting your pastry bag inside a cup as you filled it and that actually worked great.

Ready to frost

With a simple circular motion, which was way easier than I thought, I frosted – and it turned out amazing!

Perfection

Seriously, if I can do this, anyone can do this. 

Finally, I placed them on a cupcake stand and added my homemade toppers.

  

It’s the little things that make me proud.

And I am awfully proud of myself today.  🙂

5 thoughts on “Cupcake Extravaganza

  1. Pingback: Guest Blogger Courtney from Misadventures in Cooking

Comments make me happy.

