Grocery Store Success

I went to grocery stores twice this week.  For actual groceries – and not just for late night treats. 

(I do consider Costco to be a grocery store.  I should get credit for this, as I took both boys during the lunch rush today.)

I made lists and mostly stuck to them.

I purchased items that I had to have knowledge about (such as produce and meats).

I found everything I was looking for (eventually).

Success was had by all (including a special snack for the little guys who were actually pretty good for me).

Yesterday, I took the boys to our local grocery store.  They remodeled it about a year ago, and I’m still trying to find out where everything is located.  I can always find the bakery and frozen food section and that’s about it.

(Side story:  Last year when I was pregnant with my youngest, I had horrible “morning sickness” all day long for five months.  Anyways, the only thing I could eat in the mornings were Luna bars because they gave me protein and had chocolate flavor.  Needing to get away from my oldest child, Hubby sent me to the grocery store to pick some up.  He gave me exact, full-proof  instructions for the location. I wandered the store for 20+  minutes, starting with where he told me, then going up and down every single aisle looking for them, twice.  I ended up a sobbing mess, asking for help, and finding the bars right where Hubby said they were – just on the bottom shelf where I hadn’t looked.  Definitely not a good grocery day.)

It may have taken me a little longer than most people, but I found everything I needed and even got a couple great deals. 

And today, we went to Costco.  I actually love going to Costco because it’s not just grocery stuff — and I generally know where everything is.  Plus, my four-year old loves samples, so he’s always on good behavior.

So, in addition to working on my cooking, I think I’m going to try to tackle some weekly trips to the grocery store. 

Practice makes perfect, right?

2 thoughts on “Grocery Store Success

  1. I hate the grocery stores in my town. The closest one also remodeled and they lost most of the seafood and cheese area for bread racks. How stupid! I love Costco & Trader Joes but I only get there every few months as they are 60 miles away. Glad you found everything. Maybe you can try out your knife now!

    Like

Comments make me happy.

