Trefoil Toffee

The Girl Scouts of America have taken over (again).

I have no willpower when it comes to these pint size peddlers of crispy yumminess.  (I was totally screwed at my old job as a kindergarten teacher – they would come in droves, and I could never turn them down.  Purely to help them out, I would buy a box – or seven.)

As a family, we have decided this year to cut back, and therefore, have only purchased eight boxes total. 

(I almost typed that with a straight face…yeah, right – our nextdoor neighbor girls are Scouts, and I’m sure we’ll end up with a lot more!)

I’m always looking for new and exciting ways to use my Scout cookies (by the way, try the Thin Mints or Samoas frozen – YUMMY!)

Browsing through some of my favorite blogs, I came across this amazing recipe on Bliss n Tell.  I needed a new way to use some of my Girl Scout Cookie collection, and this seemed like an easy perfect Friday night treat.

Here’s the Recipe:

Recipe by Jennifer Laszlo
1/2 box Trefoils
1 c. Butter
1 c. Brown Sugar
12 oz. Chocolate Chips
1 1/2 c. Chopped Nuts

Line a 9 x 13 inch  baking dish with aluminum foil and grease with butter or margarine.  Place a single layer of whole trefoils across the bottom of the prepared dish. In a saucepan, combine the butter and brown sugar and bring to a boil over medium heat, stirring.  Continue to boil for 3 minutes.  Slowly pour the syrup over the trefoils and spread gently to coat completely.  Bake at 350 for 7 minutes or until bubbly. Remove from oven and sprinkle with chocolate chips.  When the chips  have melted, spread the chocolate evenly over the top. Sprinkle with nuts. Refrigerate until complete cool and set, then break into pieces.

The Results:

Well, I learned a new lesson – don’t put frozen butter in a hot saucepan.  Just trust me.

Also, this was supposed to be my Friday night treat.  After the week I had, I really deserved it… Unfortunately, I didn’t get to start cooking until after 8 and when we headed to bed at 10 (and that’s a late night at my house – sad, huh), it still hadn’t set.  It was great for breakfast, though!  🙂

I used semi-sweet chocolate chips to try to calm the sweet, which I think was a good choice, as the toffee is very sweet (still amazing, though).  (Oh, and we skipped the nuts – just didn’t have any).

Oh, and a final word of advice: I would strongly, strongly recommend generously buttering the foil.  (I may have spent 10 or so plus minutes peeling and digging out aluminum from the bottom of my toffee).

Overall, it was a snap and so delicious. 

I think I might take a sample over to the neighbor’s.

A little piece of Heaven

No ulterior motives. 

Promise.

7 thoughts on “Trefoil Toffee

  1. Pingback: Banana Chocolate Chip Coffee Cake « Misadventures in Cooking

  2. Pingback: Do-Si-Dos Brownies « Misadventures in Cooking

Comments make me happy.

