Maiden Voyage

I’m not gonna lie to you.  I’m kind of upset. 

Not because my 11 month old is a runny-nosed mess.  Or because my four-year old has started shouting out that he hates me whenever he doesn’t get his way.  Not even because I’ve been fighting the stomach flu since Friday. 

Nope, I’m ticked because my husband took my sickness as an opportunity to use my new knife.  Without asking. 

But that’s not the only thing he’s done this week.

Let’s backtrack, shall we…

A couple of weeks ago, I decided I need to get my own knife (see reasoning here).  I sought advice and got some great suggestions from fellow bloggers Kate and Jane.  I was excited to do my own research and figure out what I wanted.  I casually mentioned to hubby that I was looking for a knife of my own – and, boy, was he excited.  Seriously.  Excited.

He immediately got online and started researching on his own.  Then he moved on to researching in his cooking magazines.  (Yes, he gets several.  I get People and Glamour, and I’m okay with that.)

Without asking me — let me repeat, without asking me, he ordered me a knife.  Yes, I know he had the best of intentions.  Yes, I know he picked the best rated fairly inexpensive knife suggested from America’s Test Kitchen.  But still, it’s my knife.  And I was enjoying trying to figure out what I wanted.

I was a little unhappy, but I decided to let it go, since I was getting a package in the mail (I love packages).  And I’d probably have a pretty good knife to use since, I hate to admit it, he probably knew what he was doing.

It came on Friday.  I couldn’t wait to get it open. 

But then, I got sick.  Really, really, passed out on floor from vomiting, sick.  Yesterday was pretty much a blur.  Today, I’m finally starting to feel better, so I decided to leave my bedroom for the first time in days.

And guess what I found in the sink in the kitchen.  My knife.  Opened.  Dirty.  Used.

And not by me.

He didn’t even cook anything yesterday.  He just used it to cut some lettuce. 

I think he was jealous.  That’s what I’m telling myself.

Because, right now, I just don’t have the energy to yell.

Victorinox 47570 Cutlery 6-Inch Chef's Knife

6 thoughts on “Maiden Voyage

  1. Oh that is too funny. I always get mad if someone opens my packages, even at work. I hope the knife works out for you and stay out of the ER. But if I were you I would hide it from the hubs. Feel better, Kate

    Like

  2. I feel ya! I’d be mad too! I hope you are all better now! Btw.. my 4 year old yells at me too when he doesn’t get his way.. especially at the groocery store in the popsicle isle..lol
    xo,
    Nicole

    Like

  3. I feel ya! I’d be mad too! I hope you are all better now! Btw.. my 4 year old yells at me too when he doesn’t get his way.. especially at the grocery store in the popsicle isle..lol
    xo,
    Nicole

    Like

Comments make me happy.

