Black Bean Soup and Homemade Flatbread

Oh, yeah.  The bar is raised – and I met the challenge.

Here are the recipes – (yes, with an s):

Black Bean Soup (from The $7 a Meal Slow Cooker Cookbook)

1 pound dried black beans     

1 onion, chopped    

3 cloves minced garlic   

2 stalks celery, minced  

1 minced jalapeno pepper 

1 T chili powder  

1/4 t cayenne pepper

1/2 t salt 4 c chicken stock

4 c water

2 T masa harina

1/3 c water

1. Sort and rinse black beans and cover with cold water.  Let stand overnight.  In the morning, drain beans, discard soaking water, and combine in a 4 to 5 quart crock pot with remaining ingredients except masa harina and 1/3 c water.

2. Turn crock pot to high.  In small bowl, mix masa harina with water and blend well.  Stir into soup, mixing well.  Cook on high for 30 minutes, stirring once during cooking, until soup is thickened.  Serve with sour cream and guacamole.

Homemade Flat Bread (from foodnetwork.com, Kathleen Daelemans)

1 package active yeast     

1/2 t sugar      

1 3/4 c all-purpose flour     

1 t coarse salt

1 T fresh thyme leaves

3/4 c water (might need more)

1 t oil

1. In the bowl of a food processor combine the yeast, sugar, flour, salt and thyme. Pulse to combine. Add the water in a steady stream until the dough begins to form a ball, turn it on to a board and knead with the heel of your hand until the dough is smooth and elastic.

2. Coat a bowl with oil. Place dough in bowl, and cover with a damp cloth. Put in a warm spot to rise until double in size, about 1 hour.

3. When the dough has doubled in size, punch the dough, scrape it onto the counter and knead it lightly into a smooth ball. Cut into 20 pieces and with a rolling pin roll out to form very flat 5 to 6-inch circles.

4. Preheat a stove top grill pan over medium high. Do not oil. Place bread on hot grill and cook without touching it until you see bubbles on the surface, about 1 to 2 minutes. Turn and continue to cook 1 to 2 minutes more or until bread has puffed up. Serve immediately.

The Process:

Well, the black bean soup turned out to be so easy.  I even remember to soak the beans the night before.  My husband also attempted to show me the anal retentive proper way to cut an onion that night.  Considering I was fighting a kidney stone and on a high dose of pain pills, I stayed in good spirits – though I can’t remember a thing and am just thankful I still have all my digits.

The next morning was super simple, and I even minced my jalapeno without gloves (gasp).  It was not a big deal at all.  I did pretty much double the salt and chili pepper, as I’ve realized this cookbook is geared toward the conservative when it comes to flavoring.

After that, I was pretty bored.  I was stuck at home for the day, as our car was in the shop, so I needed some more stimulation (I know, two kids just isn’t enough for me.)

So, I decided to try my hand at  making flatbread.  I looked it up online using the term easy which led to me to the recipe on FoodNetwork.com.  

Overall it was a cinch.  My only struggle was with the making the dough into round pieces.  Couldn’t quite get that working for me — and my four year old sous chef wasn’t helping much as he rolled out “turtle” and “car” bread, just for him.

Definitely not round

Grilled to perfection

The Results:

The black bean soup turned out pretty good.  I actually had the great idea to add fresh cilantro which turned it into amazing!  It made a ton, so tonight will definitely be leftovers.

The bread wasn’t exactly what I was going for, but I think that’s because I’d misunderstood what flatbread was.  I was hoping for a crispy, cracker like bread instead of a denser, chewy kind of bread.  It still tasted good, and according to Hubby, it was perfect.  I’ll take that compliment any day.

Yummy

Dinner is served

6 thoughts on “Black Bean Soup and Homemade Flatbread

  1. I bumped into your recipe, great recipes about Black Bean Soup. These look fantastic and we really liked it. These look so yummy. I will be making this sometime soon. Delicious!

    Like

  2. Pingback: It’s a Soup Supper Recipe Round-Up!! | An Affair from the Heart

Comments make me happy.

