Live to Eat or Eat to Live?

That is the question.

I had this discussion with my husband this weekend -after I skipped breakfast because I was so busy.  He could not understand how I could possibly skip a meal.  Little does he know that I do this more often than not.  And it’s not because I’m trying to lose weight, but because I honestly don’t even think about it.

That’s me, I eat to live. 

When my stomach growls so much to bug me, then I’ll think about it and make myself something.  Usually something very quick and easy, with as few dishes as possible.  I give up flavor and richness for ease.  I eat what I need to get by. 

Don’t get me wrong, though.  I do love food.  But, I’m not extremely motivated to cook for just myself.  If someone prepares something amazing for me, I’ll eat until I’m sick.  But otherwise, a peanut butter and jelly will do me just fine.

My husband, though, he lives to eat.

He will spend hours fixing the perfect meal, even if it’s just for him – or for the two of us.  And when I say hours, I mean hours.  For example, he’s been working on a special bread for the last two days in preparation for our Valentine’s Day dinner.  Me, I’d probably just gone to a bakery and picked up a loaf of good bread.  But he loves it.  He loves knowing that he’s spent the time to make each meal perfect and special.  And that he’s done it all by himself.  And damn, he knows it will be worth it because it will taste so good.

Every meal is an artistic opportunity for him to make something spectacular.   

I think this is why cooking is much more a chore for me.  And that’s how I still see it, as a chore.  I really, really hope that this personal challenge will help me change – so that I can enjoy the process as well as the product.

Oh, and I am really excited for our V-Day meal.

I’m just glad I don’t have to do a thing.

Comments make me happy.

