Chocolate!

So, I’m a blogging and cooking loser this week.  I have excuses, though.  Several, in fact:

1. It’s my birthday week.

2. I just got back from a vacation (and need a vacation from my vacation).

3. Both my kiddos are sick.

4. It’s my birthday week.

(In my family, birthday weeks are sacred and, therefore, I get to do whatever I want.  It’s the best week ever.)

Anyways, so no cooking this week — but I technically cooked twice last week.  That counts, right?

I promised some more of my Chicago food adventures, so I thought I’d share a bit.  I have to apologize in advance, though, because I kinda stuck totally to my comfort zone for the rest of the trip.  But, even though I ate what I usually eat, I did it in new places.  See, so I wasn’t totally stuck. 🙂

The best thing we did, food-wise, was go on the Chicago Chocolate Tour.  It was AMAZING.  I am a total chocoholic, so this was right up my alley.  And I knew I couldn’t really go wrong eating chocolate for a couple of hours.

We went to a chocolatier, a cupcake bakery, bread bakery, cake bakery, and a tea shop.  (Yes, we ended with a tea shop – kind of a stretch to be on a chocolate tour, but they made it work.)

It was a bit hilarious to be on this tour, as our tour guide carried a huge advertising sign while we walked.  As you can imagine, our little group of eight got quite a bit of attention.  My bestie and I were definitely the most lively of the group, and may have “woo-d” occasionally when gawked at.  We had a few uptight individuals who may have looked snootily down upon us, but we survived (and had way more fun than them, I bet).

Besides the corny humor and fun-facts, we enjoyed our tour guide – and, of course, the chocolate. 

We had Dom Perignon truffles (not bad), chocolate-chocolate cupcakes (yum – and I bought a dark chocolate Valrhona cupcake for later dessert – double-yum!), dark chocolate cake (my favorite of the day), bread (just cuz), dark chocolate haystacks (not sure what was in them, but pretty good), and chocolate tea (kinda grossed me out). 

We followed in the footsteps of Martha Stewart, though passed up Oprah’s favorite cupcake place. 

All in all, a fabulous time was had by all (even those with sticks up their you-know-whats).  I would definitely recommend it if you ever are in Chicago.

More Cupcakes, Chicago, IL

3 thoughts on “Chocolate!

  1. Pingback: Back to the Market: A Tasting Tour « Misadventures in Cooking

Comments make me happy.

