Comfort Zones

I love my comfort zone.  It’s familiar and I know all about it.  I’ve realized, though, you can get really stuck in your CZ – and me, I’ve been stuck in one for years.

This weekend, my wonderful husband (who I really should stop complaining about) sent me, sans children, to Chicago to spend time with my best friend.  It was an amazing gift of time.  I’m having a blast — even though he made me promise I’d go outside my CZ , especially when it comes to eating food.

I promised, and I think I’ve actually lived up to it, too.

Not only have I traveled alone, on an airplane, all by myself, I’ve gone up to the 96th floor of the Hancock Tower (I HATE heights), and I’ve been trying all sorts of foods I never thought I would.

Actually, our first stop was for a Superdawg — one of those crazy Chicago hot dogs covered in everything.  This is something that normally would make me really nervous.  I hate to admit it, but I’m one of those anal retentive people who likes her foods to not touch one another.  I am really jealous of my four year old’s divided plate because it makes sure that nothing mingles.  I often freak out if my meat sauce touches my salad.  My husband thinks I’m a little crazy. 

Anyways, the thought of having a hot dog covered with all sorts of stuff, kinda grossed me out.  But I made a promise to my hubby that I would try one.  And I thought I’d get it out of the way first thing.

When we pulled up to order, I asked my bestie to read me the ingredients.  They were: polish hotdog on a poppy seed bun with onions, celery salt, hot peppers, green tomatoes, piccalilli, and a kosher dill pickle.  I only had a mild panic attack – because in my head, hot dogs should only be a hot dog on a white bun with maybe some mustard and ketchup.  All the rest of that stuff just sounded plain crazy.  But, I promised.  So I ordered one with the works.

When it arrived, I honestly just grabbed it and took a bite.  I didn’t want any time to over-think it and wuss out.  And you know what?  It was good.  Really good.  Suprisingly delicious.

I ate the whole thing and enjoyed every single bite.

And maybe learned a little something about going outside my comfort zone. 

(And that maybe having different foods touch could be okay… but only sometimes.)

More Chicago food adventures later…

6 thoughts on “Comfort Zones

  1. I had the same thoughts about the chicago dogs…. I figured that I was in chicago and I needed to try it to say that I did (and it made for a pretty cheap lunch)…. but once I did, I was shocked at how good they really are!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Can I blame my Mom? « Misadventures in Cooking

  3. Pingback: Watermelon Salad « Misadventures in Cooking

Comments make me happy.

